Makeup and Sushi Samba

20130820-174115.jpg

Last weekend I met up with a very dear friend to celebrate her birthday. It was just the two of us for a lazy lunch- no bottle popping, shots or VIP booths- but as this was a birthday lunch we thought we’d head over to the 38th floor of the Heron Tower and try out Sushi Samba.

It was heaven. We were high above the City of London on a perfectly sunny day enjoying the most mouth-watering Japanese, Brazilian and Peruvian fusion food.

20130820-180211.jpg

20130820-182515.jpg

20130820-180150.jpg

20130820-180202.jpg

20130820-180135.jpg

We ate and ate and ate, and I drank and drank and drank (my friend is tee-total so I had to drink on her behalf). I cannot properly put into words how blissful the whole experience was- incredibly ridiculous considering that’s the whole point of a blog, I know- but the ambience, the food, the decor and the breathtaking views over London all made for the perfect late afternoon hangout. It’s jumped right into my top 10 list of places to eat in London.

“What makeup did you wear?” Well I’m glad you asked because this allows me to get to the point of this slightly rambling post:

20130820-180225.jpg

My deconstructed face.

Base: I kept things nice and natural with just a sweep of MAC’s prep and prime translucent pressed powder to absorb shine (good but not amazing. I’m still searching for amazing).

Blush: P Pie from Sleek’s Blush by 3 Pumpkin pallete. Lovely shade, perfect level of pigmentation. Their blushes are probably the best on the market and incredibly affordable- my palette was £10 from Superdrug.

Eyes: Soap and Glory’s Super Cat eyeliner- a liquid liner with an easy to use felt tip-esque nib that stays put once dry (unlike their pencil liner that smudges like crazy)

Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara. I used to work on the beauty floors of a few top London department stores during my uni years and I have tried all the mascaras. All of them. So trust me when I say that this is the best. It gives beautifully long, defined, thick lashes without smudging or flaking. Just get it.

Lips: Revlon lip butter in Tutti Frutti. Lovely sheer orangey-coral shade with a nice moisturisng, non-sticky finish.

In other news, I wrote this post on my phone during my commute! I am a blogging machine.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Makeup and Sushi Samba

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    That sushi looks delish!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. delacybrown says:

    New post new post! Oh the joys. And indeed of that Sushi Samba – Sadly lacking my presence mais non? But then you can’t have everything in life, and that tropical looking Sushi certainly seems to have made up for the vibrancy of colour I would otherwise have brought to the occasion. Luckily for you both I was flying at the time – I think I may have seen your superbly made-up face from the skies. Loving the blog – keep up the good work!! X

  3. VividWinter says:

    I came for the make-up, I stayed for the food! I’m so ridiculously hungry right now. I need sushi like this in my life.

  4. Pingback: d.j.v. Beautenizer Volume Lash | Mabel Says……….

Leave a Reply

